Pin It



Mark Crilley is an American comic book creator and children's book author/illustrator. He is the creator of Miki Falls, Akiko, and Brody's Ghost. (See below).

He is also noted for his instructional videos for drawing in the manga-style,.

Crilley distributes drawing advice to artists via YouTube videos and his DeviantArt account.

In August 2010, he starred in some how to draw videos for Funimation on demand. Mark Crilley's wife is Miki Crilley who is from Japan, and he named Miki Falls after.
The two have a daughter, Mio, and a son, Matthew.

Which is the real thing?

Mark Crilley on YouTube:



Cover of TBP volume 2
Akiko is an American comic brick series written and drawn by Mark Crilley and published by Siri Entertainment. The series ran for fifty two issues and was a thirteen-time Eisner nominee. The comics have spawned a series of ten children novels from Random House Children's Books. The collection includes:

Akiko on the Planet Smoo (March 2001) Akiko in the Sprubly Islands (September 2001) Akiko and the Great Wall of Trudd (March 2001) Akiko in the Castle of Alia Rellapor (September 2001) (ends adaptations from comic) Akiko and the Intergalactic Zoo (April 2002) (original stories begin) Akiko and the Alpha Centauri 5000 (March 2003) Akiko and the Journey to Toog (September 2003) Akiko: The Training Master (February 2005) Akiko: Pieces of Gax (November 2006) Akiko and the Missing Misp (November 2008).

The story has been described as a cross between The Wizard of Oz and Star Wars, centering on the adventures of Akiko, a Japanese American girl, on and around the planet Smoo, and other whimsical lands. She is accompanied by her alien friends, Mr. Beeba the well-read professor, the courageous but impulsive Spuckler, Gax the worn down, kind robot, and Poog, the Toogolian, floating, purple head.

Miki Falls

Cover of Miki Falls vol. 1 (2007).
Art by Mark Crilley.
Miki Falls is an OEL manga series created by Mark Crilley and published by HarperCullins under its HarperTeen imprint. It is structured as a four-volume series, each book taking place during one of the seasons over the course of a year. It follows the main protagonist Miki Yoshida in her senior year of high school, and she plans of making it the better year yet. However, a strange new boy arrives in town and Miki is going to find out what he's up to. It has been optioned for development as a feature film by Paramount and Brad Pitt's production company, Plan B, with Sera Gamble attached as screenwiter.

Brody's Ghost

Brody's Ghost Book 3
Mark has announced in recent videos a new comic book series that is going to be published by Dark Horse Comics. The story, set in the near future, is that of a young man unaware of his magical powers. Only when he is approached by a mysterious girl in need of his help he begins with a training process to awaken and master his powers.

Book One in the Brody's Ghost series was released July 14, 2010. Book Two is set for a January release in 2011. Upon release, the series received positive feedback including a grade B+ from Detroit News's Eric Henrickson.

His third book, the latest volume in the Brody's Ghost series is now on the shelves, and he dares to  say it contains the most surprising twists and turns yet!

Brody's Ghost contains seven differences from Crilley's previous work, Miki Falls. The story follows a male main character and contains more action and fighting sequences.

Via | Mark Crilley Youtube Channel | Mark Crilley Website

No comments:

Post a Comment